New Boy – A ITN short

Today, in my english class we watched this – as films are part of the OCR syllabus – short film and as we have to do a review i thought it would be a super good idea to put it on my blog and then print the view on the site! Don’t you think that was a good idea?

The name of the film short I am reviewing, as it says in the title and the Permalink, is New Boy written by Roddy Doyle, released in 2009 with over 1,100,000 hits on Youtube.

PLOT

This shorts plot is quite an interesting one, with a 9 year old black boy – Joseph – due to unfortunate circumstances moving to Ireland from all the way in Africa, he seems quite a quiet boy and he doesn’t get off to a good start, with the school bully (Christian) sitting behind Joseph, being racist, and being generally annoying towards Joseph, which I think is because A. Joseph is black and B. Joseph is the new boy and Christian is obviously too juvenile to think about that so instead of waiting and judging Joseph on his actions, he runs in, all guns blazing with no thought at all, your typical school bully. Although on the subject of racism:

Let’s face it, a 9 year old racist? Is that really going to happen? I mean I know that the world has changed since I was 9 years old, but it wasn’t that long ago, so surely it hasn’t changed that much? I could be wrong, but I really hope I’m not. The plot continues straight on with this Christian trying to assault Joseph, which he deals with quite easily. I don’t want to ruin this film for anyone so I am not giving any spoilers, if I do, I am so sorry!

There are a few funny moments in the story, but they aren’t laugh until you cry funny there sort of *chuckle chuckle chuckle* *dead silence* moments, and this is quite interesting as the short is supposed to be a sad short, so to have comedy factor seems interesting for me.

Verdict

I did not particularly enjoy this film, but for what it was, which is a short 11 minute film with not much production money and not very well paid actors, it was an O.K. film, had I gone to see this in a cinema with it having the whole back story of him and why he moved to Ireland, and it being drawn out for an hour and a half, I would have been extremely disappointed which would have been a real achievement for this film (“Achievement Unlocked: Draw out something that should have been 10 minutes and make it in to an hour and a half feature length film!”) and it’s makers, as I do not often really dislike a film!

Star Rating (Out of 5 stars) looking over it? I would give it 3 and a half stars!

Hope you enjoyed reading this film review of the ITN short – New Boy

Good Hunting

Airfire21

~ by airfire21 on September 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
